Emerging Methods for Studying Use of Spatial Technologies
@ GIScience 2010, 14 September in Zurich, Switzerland

Final Program now available!!

This workshop, sponsored by the Commission on Use and User Issues of the International Cartographic Association (www.univie.ac.at/icacomuse), aims to bring together researchers from relevant fields to discuss methods for studying the use of spatial technology in the multidisciplinary context of GIScience.

What is the topic?
Spatial technologies of all types are becoming an increasingly common part of many individuals’ daily lives. We define spatial technologies broadly, including but not limited to location-based services, mobile mapping, mash-ups, interactive maps, geovisualizations, and GIS applications such as decision support systems. Although much effort is devoted to building these technologies, fewer resources have been devoted to making them usable or understanding why and how a technology is usable. Encouragingly, however, a growing number of researchers have shown interest in recent years in working in the area of user studies. This workshop is aimed at promoting interaction and exchange between researchers who do user studies (or would like to do them in the future).

Who is invited?
Participation in this workshop is open to all researchers who have an interest in understanding how and why spatial technologies are used or are usable. Your interest may range from theoretical aspects (e.g., understanding cognitive and perceptual processes related to successful or unsuccessful technology use) to the practical (e.g., how to design more usable and useful technologies). We especially hope to encourage presentations by PhD students in the workshop as they are often at the forefront of using (or developing) new methods in their research.

Workshop format:
This workshop will follow a slightly unorthodox format, to better encourage discussion and exchange among all participants. The format will consist of keynote presentations in the morning, followed by an interactive poster session in the afternoon. Each poster presenter has five minutes to introduce his or her user study as a teaser for the poster session, which will last most of the afternoon. The day will end with a summary of main themes relating to the challenges and successes of user studies that arose from the presentations and posters.

The confirmed keynotes and their topics are:

The best of the posters will be selected for publication in the workshop proceedings as a part of the main conference proceedings. These submissions will consist of .pdf files of participants’ posters, which will be peer-reviewed by members of the program committee. If you have any questions about the workshop, please contact Amy Griffin (a dot griffin at adfa dot edu dot au).

Workshop Organizers:
Amy Griffin, University of New South Wales-ADFA
Scott Bell, University of Saskatchewan
Mary Hegarty, University of California, Santa Barbara

Submission and selection procedure:

February 17, 2010

CFP announced

May 31, 2010

Authors should submit a pdf of their poster contribution to Amy Griffin (a dot griffin at adfa dot edu dot au).

The Program Committee will review the submitted posters and evaluate them according to the following criteria, providing constructive feedback to authors:
relevance to call; degree of novelty & innovation; progress demonstrated in the research; potential impact; potential interest to the user studies community

June 30, 2010

Workshop organizers will select posters for publication in the proceedings and notify authors of acceptance.

July 14, 2010

Revised poster .pdf contributions should be submitted to Amy Griffin (a dot griffin at adfa dot edu dot au) for inclusion in the workshop proceedings.

September 14, 2010

Workshop at GIScience 2010

Poster Dimensions:

The maximum acceptable dimension is to be advised shortly.

Workshop Cost:

Like all GIScience-affiliated workshops, the registration fee is 100 SFr for faculty/staff and 60 SFr for students.

Program Committee:

Anthony Robinson, Penn State University
Muki Haklay, University College London
Paula Ahonen-Raino, Helsinki University of Technology
Corné Van Elzakker, ITC
Eric Kramers, Natural Resources Canada
Alexander Pucher, University of Vienna
David Forrest, University of Glasgow
Sven Fuhrmann, Texas State University
Scott Freundschuh, University of Minnesota, Duluth & NSF
Dan Jacobsen, University of Calgary